Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Please don't leave copies of emails on the server!

Clients with "real" (non-forwarded) domain emails:

For those of you with domain email addresses (yourname@yourdomain.com) which are NOT forwarded to gmail or elsewhere, everything should be functioning perfectly. There is one change, however, and that is that the new server is limiting everyone to 500 MB of server space for emails. This is obviously a lot of space -- as long as you clear your messages off the server regularly. Note that this does NOT mean you have to clear it off your own computer, you just need to click the box in your email preferences that says to delete email off the server.

In Apple Mail, for example, you can do preferences, then accounts, and then under the Advanced tab, UNCLICK "Remove copy from server after retrieving a message" and you can pick "after one week" or whatever.

If you check your domain email in gmail (a great solution), go to mail settings (under the blue gear in the far upper right corner), choose "Accounts and Import." Under "Check mail using Pop3," on the far right click on "edit info." Then UNCLICK the box that says "Leave a copy of retrieved messages on the server."

Other various email programs should have a similar way to do it.

Simple!

thanks,
maddee

No comments: