Friday, July 31, 2009

Email sending errors

UPDATED 8/4/09:

A recent issue has popped up with people not being able to SEND mail -- though they can receive it.

After many hours on the phone, I don't know why this is happening and GoDaddy doesn't either but it appears that there is something spam-related going on on the internet all of a sudden which is causing blocks to my server. So weird. The error some people are getting says something about "spamhaus" but the IP that is blocked is not MY server, but theirs. Like I said, it's inexplicable.


Easy enough to fix though. So far there are two things to try -- and both have worked for those who have tried.

Note: when I say mail.domain.com that would be, for example, mail.authorname.com

1. Change your outgoing servers from mail.domain.com to whatever your ISP uses -- for example smtp.comcast.net or whatever they suggest. And then unclick the "authentication" button. Also unclick "Use SSL."

2. Keep the outgoing server as mail.domain.com, make sure "authentication" is chosen and that "password" is how it is authenticated.
Also unclick "Use SSL." And last, try, one at a time (to see what might work), the following ports: 25, 80, 587, 3535. Port 587 has done the trick for a few clients immediately.

It's aggravating -- I know. Thanks for your patience.

maddee


Thursday, July 23, 2009

Vacation FYI

I'll be gone from Friday June 24th through Tuesday June 28th. Feel free to send work -- I just may be a little slower to get it done while gone.

Everyone enjoy their weekend!
maddee

Monday, July 6, 2009

Email: Remove copy from server!

I apparently confused quite a few of you with my email request.... sorry! Here's the explanation:

Once you download your email (i.e. "retrieve email") into your email program (outlook, apple mail, whatever), it is yours and will not suddenly disappear. So don't worry about that.

What I was referencing is this: In your email program, usually under "preferences" and "accounts" (though every email program is set up differently) there is a box you can click that says something like:

"Remove copy from server after retrieving a message."

What this means is that AFTER you have gotten your email -- in other words after it has come into your inbox (and it sits there or you've filed it or whatever you do with it) -- a copy of it will be LEFT ON MY SERVER FOREVER unless you click the box I describe to you above. That's what I'm trying to avoid.

You will NOT lose the email from your own computer -- it will simply remove it from my end -- not yours.

Those of you who have your domain email (i.e. maddee@madeirajames.com) forwarded to another account like Earthlink or gmail don't really have to worry about it, though Earthlink and Google would probably love for you to have that box clicked as well!

Hope that makes sense....

maddee