I apparently confused quite a few of you with my email request.... sorry! Here's the explanation:
Once you download your email (i.e. "retrieve email") into your email program (outlook, apple mail, whatever), it is yours and will not suddenly disappear. So don't worry about that.What I was referencing is this: In your email program, usually under "preferences" and "accounts" (though every email program is set up differently) there is a box you can click that says something like:
"Remove copy from server after retrieving a message."What this means is that AFTER you have gotten your email -- in other words after it has come into your inbox (and it sits there or you've filed it or whatever you do with it) --
a copy of it will be LEFT ON MY SERVER FOREVER unless you click the box I describe to you above. That's what I'm trying to avoid.
You will NOT lose the email from your own computer -- it will simply remove it from my end -- not yours.Those of you who have your domain email (i.e. maddee@madeirajames.com) forwarded to another account like Earthlink or gmail don't really have to worry about it, though Earthlink and Google would probably love for you to have that box clicked as well!
Hope that makes sense....
maddee